Just InSports

India v Australia 2nd test: India script history in Melbourne’s series-levelling victory

Vishnu Vasisht

Team India equalled the test series 1-1 in the four-match Test series against the Kangaroos. India beat Australia by 8 wickets in the second Test played in Melbourne. In Adelaide, the Australian team gave an embarrassing defeat to Team India, but returning to Melbourne, the Indian team avenged the defeat with a strong comeback.

India bowled Australia for 195 runs in the first innings. After this, India scored 326 runs in their first innings thanks to a century by captain Ajinkya Rahane (112) and a half-century by Ravindra Jadeja (57). India took a lead of 131 runs over Australia. After this, Indian bowlers bowled out Australia for 200 runs in the second innings and won the match on the fourth day by 8 wickets. The third Test match between India and Australia will be played from 7 to 11 January.

This is India's second consecutive win against Australia in Melbourne. Earlier in December 2018, Team India beat Australia by 137 runs in the Boxing Day Test played in Melbourne. Then India had won a Test in Melbourne after 37 years.

Prior to this, India had consecutive wins against Australia in 1978 and 1981 in Melbourne. During that time too, India won two consecutive Test matches against Australia in Melbourne. Apart from this, India has won the eighth Test victory on Australian soil.

The match was also the 100th Test match between India and Australia (1947–2020) and India won this memorable victory in the absence of regular captain Virat Kohli. This is India's 29th win over Australia, although it has lost 43 matches. 27 matches have ended in draws and one match has ended in a tie.

Read Next | 29 Dec News Digest: PM Modi to inaugurate EDFC in UP, Covid guidelines extended till Jan 31

Comment here