Just InPoliticsRegionalTop News

Congress-Left party-ISF Mahagathbandhan released first list of candidates

Swastika Sruti

As today TMC released their first list of candidates contesting the Bengal election where Mamta Banerjee will contest from Nandigram, the Grand Alliance comprising Left Front, Congress, and ISF on Friday have also announced the first list of candidates for Bengal assembly election 2021. Earlier in the day, Trinamool Congress led by Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, released the full list of 291 candidates for the forthcoming elections in the state. Meanwhile, BJP is also expected to release the first list of candidates for the upcoming polls.

A Congress MP Pradip Bhattacharya said, "names of Congress candidates for seats allotted to it in the alliance will be announced by the high command in Delhi."


Besides this, the list of 291 TMC candidates included 50 women, 42 Muslim candidates, and a slew of Bengal's Tollywood celebrities who had joined the Trinamool bandwagon recently.

Banerjee said that she will contest from East Midnapore's Nandigram this time. "I am going to Nandigram on 9th March. On 10th March, I will file the nomination at Haldia," she said.

State power minister and Trinamool Congress veteran Sovandeb Chatterjee will contest from the Bhawanipore seat as Mamata chose to contest from Nandigram. Ex-Trinamool councilor Debashis Kumar will contest from Rashbihari seat, in place of Chatterjee.

According to the election schedule, the first phase of polling will be held on March 27 in 30 assembly seats in five districts. The second phase of polling will be held on April 1 in 30 assembly seats in four districts. The third phase of the election will be held on April 6 in 31 assembly seats.

The fourth phase of voting will be held on April 10 in 44 assembly seats. The fifth phase of polling will be held in 44 seats on 17 April, 43 seats on 22 April in the sixth phase, 36 seats on 26 April in the seventh phase, and 35 seats on 29 April in the eighth phase

West Bengal assembly elections 2021 will be held in 8 phases beginning March 27 while the final phase will take place on April 29. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.


Read Next: Actor Mithun Chakraborty to Join BJP? His Plans to Share Stage with PM Modi Stokes Speculation

Comment here